The heart is of three types:

  • Correct heart
  • Dead heart
  • Diseased heart

(i) The correct heart that is secure from all desires that oppose the command o f Allah and His prohibitions, and it is secure form all doubts that contradict what He informs. Just as it is secure from worshipping anything else besides Allah and from seeking judgement from any person other than His Messenger.
(ii) The dead heart, this being the opposite o f the correct heart containing no life, neither knowing its Lord nor w orshipping Him.
(iii) The heart that has some life but also has a defect. So it contains love o f Allah, faith in Him, sincerity and trust towards Him from those things that are essendal to it remaining alive. It also contains the love o f vain desires and preference for them, despicable morals and manners from those things that cause it to die, and it is condnously wavering between these two conditions.
So the first type o f heart is the living, humble, soft and gentle heart. The second is the dry, harsh and dead heart. The third is the heart which is diseased, it can either be made secure or have its destruction sealed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s